Pat-A-Cake

This weekend, I sang Pat-A-Cake to Eleanor, just the way my mom sang it to her, and how she used to sing it to me when I was a baby.

Patty cake, patty cake, bake a man.
Bake me a cake as fast as you can
Roll ’em up, roll ’em up, throw him in a pan!

I couldn’t help but notice that Jeff was chuckling and when I asked him why he explained that he’d never heard Pat-A-Cake sang that way and that it wasn’t the “right” way. What?! What was he talking about? That’s exactly how it’s supposed to sound. Right? So, we settled the controversy the modern way: we Googled it. The real words go as follows:

Pat-a-cake, pat-a-cake, baker’s man.
Bake me a cake as fast as you can;
Pat it and prick it and mark it with B,
Put it in the oven for baby and me.

For the record, Jeff’s mom sings it a little differently, too! Her version (which she sang for us via video conference, thankyoutechnology) goes like this:

Patty cake, patty cake, baker’s man.
Bake me a cake as fast as you can;
Rooooooll ’em up and pat the dough and mark it with B,
And put it in the oven for baby and me.

It’s pretty amazing that Mothers have this influence over thier children. In matters as trivial as nursery rhymes, or as huge as child-rearing, whatever our mothers do is the “normal” and correct way to do it. They set the bar for EVERYTHING. What a strange and wonderful power to have.

About Emily

wife, mom, graphic designer, living by the sea.

2 responses to “Pat-A-Cake

  1. Lindsey

    I loved this! Thanks for making me think of another reason of why this is such an awesome role. 😉 E is precious!

  2. Pingback: Patacake Part 2 « The Frisco Kid

Leave a Reply

